1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

The GED Test - What's on the New 2014 GED Test?

Know what's on the new computer-based 2014 GED test.


The new 2014 computer-based GED test from GED Testing Service has four parts:

  1. Reasoning Through Language Arts (RLA) (150 minutes)
  2. Mathematical Reasoning (90 minutes)
  3. Science (90 minutes)
  4. Social Studies (90 minutes)

It's important to understand that while students take the test on a computer, the test is not an online test. You must take the test at an official GED testing facility. You can find the testing centers for your state on our state-by-state listing of adult education websites: GED/High School Equivalency Programs in the  United States.

There are seven types of test items on the new exam:

  1. Drag-and-drop
  2. Drop-down
  3. Fill-in-the-blank
  4. Hot spot
  5. Multiple choice (4 options)
  6. Extended response (Found in RLA and Social Studies. Students read and analyze a document and write a response using evidence from the document.)
  7. Short answer (Found in RLA and Science. Students write a summary or conclusion after reading a text.)

Sample questions are available on the GED Testing Service site.

The test is available in English and Spanish, and you can take each part up to three times in a one-year period.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.